This forum is in permanent archive mode. Our new active community can be found here.

GeekNights 080612 - Dodgeball

2»

Comments

• edited June 2008

I can't really speak for the forum as a whole, but I can speak for me and my geeky and non geeky friends combined: no one (especially high schoolers) gives a shit about reading books. 1, maybe 2 of my friends read for fun. One of my friends read just about every Stephen King book he could get his hands on last summer. Since finishing that endeavor, he hasn't read since.
    I read Harry Potter, and seldom else.
    Maybe if you read more, you would know that you just used the word seldom incorrectly. The phrases you were looking for were "little else" or "seldom anything else". Yes, it is snarky, but I am studying to become an English teacher. I like Harry Potter well enough, but it is sad when you only read work written for children. To me, you might as well have said "I read Berenstain Bear books, and little else."
    Post edited by Kate Monster on
  • Hmm, would "seldom otherwise" have been valid? It would have a slightly different meaning, but, though I am not sure, it seems to me that it would also work.
  • Hmm, would "seldom otherwise" have been valid? It would have a slightly different meaning, but, though I am not sure, it seems to me that it would also work.
    Seldom speaks to a frequency of action, not a quantity of it.
  • edited June 2008
    I was thinking of a meaning along the lines of "I rarely read except for when I read Harry Potter", but I guess you can't pull it off like that?
    Post edited by lackofcheese on
  • Man, Dodgeball. I was the fucking grandmaster at that game in middle school!Me and that one indian girl...
  • You know what...

BRING IT TO OTAKON! I'LL TAKE YOU ALL! MHAHAHA!
  • I'm afraid I've only read the first of the Prince of Nothing books so far. Its not my fault, my friends keep throwing other books at me! I'll start on volume two as soon as I finish Learning the World.