This forum is in permanent archive mode. Our new active community can be found here.

Episode 30 - Computers Part 3

edited December 2005 in Technology
We spent most of the podcast talking about video cards. There's a lot to cover there. So I figured we could all tell our video card stories.

My first IBM computer had a 1MB crap video card built into the motherboard. It could play old DOS games like a mofo until Voodoo starting becoming necessary.

The first computer I built I got the Diamond Viper V770 with a TNT2. It was literally the day the TNT2 came out. I had previously considered the TNT1, but I held out for the TNT2 and I'm glad I did.

Now I have a Gainward GeForce FX5900. It does everything I need. Sure, I can't crank everything up to 100%, but I don't care. I get enough frames in every game. And more importantly, I can write OpenGL apps in Linux and they rock.

Comments

• My first computer I built myself, when I started learning about computers, was a Matrox G450. I used this card basically until I stopped using the computer last year, adding a dual monitor to get the most use out of it. I am a continual user of Photoshop and Indesign, so I have little need for a gamer video card.

Now, I forget what I have, its the one in a Powerbook.
  • My last computer--A crappy Dell laptop with a broken neck (the thing that holds up the monitor)--has an ATi Mobility Rage P. I have no idea what that means, other than I can't play any 3D games on it. This computer, the one I'm on now, has an ATi X300, I didn't know much about video cards, or that I would be interested in Linux when I bought it. It's a fairly good video card--in Windoze. In Linux, however, it's crap. I second what you guys said about ATi graphics cards in Linux. It took me forever to figure out how to get the driver working, and it doesn't work so good after I got it.