This forum is in permanent archive mode. Our new active community can be found here.

Yet another computer build thread, help appreciated.

edited January 2009 in Technology
I am about ready to take the plunge and build my first computer.

I have been using Ubuntu for a couple of years so I will be using that as the OS. I basically took most of the parts suggestions from this story on Tom's Hardware about building a $600 gaming PC. This PC won't be dual booted and mainly serve as an upgrade for my Frankenstein's monster of a Pentium 4 that has been rebuilt enough times I think it getting close to the end of its useful life.

Here is the link to the Newegg wishlist of the parts I was thinking of using for the build. With the mail in rebates the price will be under $700 which I thought was a pretty decent price. I am planning of using a software RAID 1 hence the two hard drives.

Any suggestions as to what I should use differently as far as parts? Other suggestions welcomed as well.

Thanks

Comments

• edited January 2009
    Why so much graphics power on a Linux box?
    Post edited by lackofcheese on
  • edited January 2009
    I think this is pretty good. Though, you could just get a single 1TB Barracuda for like $106. Also, why the CPU cooler? Safety? I don't really think it's necessary.

As an afterthought, is a 430w power supply enough? I don't really want to take the time to add it up, I'm just wondering.

Edit: Lackofcheese also makes a great point.
    Post edited by Vhdblood on
  • FYI, the manufacturer species a minimum power supply rating of 450W for that GPU. Take that as you will.
  • edited January 2009
    CPU cooler is a waste. The Core 2 Duo retail will come with a cooler in the box. Use that one. It's perfectly fine, and super quiet.

Why are people going to ATi? NVidia is the win.