This forum is in permanent archive mode. Our new active community can be found here.

Recording Class Lectures

edited August 2009 in Everything Else
With the Fall semester coming up fast and many of us still in college, I thought this topic might be of some use to some people.

I've made a promise to myself to get A's and B's this semester. Since I'm the type of person who learns more through listening than through reading, I thought it might be a good idea to record my class lectures and listen to them again and again while I'm studying or walking around campus.

Here is my current setup:
Laptop
Blue Snowflake Microphone
Adobe Audition

I know its a cardioid mike, So I'll try and sit towards the front of the class to get the best quality.

Any suggestions or advice?

Comments

• I would make sure to ask your professors before recording. I don't think they'd mind, but you never know. You don't want to do it and then find out they didn't want you to.
  • Better idea. Get a webcam and record the video also.
    I was actually planning on doing this. I experimented with it in Class with Andrew last year and I think I'll be streaming all my classes this year. Anyone know how to stream two camera feeds at once (one prof cam and another sexy Andrew cam)?
  • Lectures are technically under copyright, according to a lawyer father of a friend of a friend.

Thought I might throw that tidbit out there.
  • It's copyright by default... just ask permission of your professors, and I'm sure they'll agree to it.
    One of my classes is an astronomy class. I don't think that will work out so well in the planetarium.
  • edited August 2009