This forum is in permanent archive mode. Our new active community can be found here.

HELP, I've been fired (updated with new assholery)

edited October 2009 in Everything Else
I've just been fired from my job. There is no getting it back. If anyone is aware of any secretarial positions open in the NYC area, please let me know. Getting jobs through connections would be a lot easier than driving myself mad on Craigslist/Yahoo/Whatever, which I plan to do anyway. I also have a degree from SVA in animation, though I don't have a decent portfolio. I will be working on this while looking for work as well. I am a good artist, but I can't really professionally show it just yet.

UPDATE:
My company is trying to deny my unemployment benefits. They're claiming misconduct due to "excessive absenteeism". I've been sent a questionairre to fill out and send to the DOL ASAP.

I don't have a record of how many days I was out, but it was -not- "excessive". I was under the impression that I had only just used up my sick/personal days when they fired me. I was not told anywhere in the letter or questionnaire how many days beyond my sick/personal days I had taken, but I am positive that it could not have been many, if more than only one. I had one bitchy meeting in March about internet conduct, but no warning about sick days and no written warning whatsoever from the company.

This is bullshit. Do they have a leg to stand on? Is there anything I should know? Does anyone know how many days out per year are considered "excessive"? Can they screw me over like this? Is there anything I can do besides fill out the questionnaire and pray? How common is this?

Comments