This forum is in permanent archive mode. Our new active community can be found here.

I Want To Build A PC

edited November 2010 in Technology
... But I am a total newbie when it comes to that. I can solder, (electronics course in high school) and I am willing to do most of my research on my own, but I want opinions from you guys.

Mainly what I want is a gaming machine. I am now playing mostly computer games off Steam, and my current rig can't hold too much more and is already slowing down. I also do a lot of stuff on the internet, so a good wifi card would be a plus. Everything else I can handle because I use open-source programs like Open Office.

Comments

• From what I've heard, building a laptop is really not any better than just buying a prebuilt one and really is just way too much bother. Also, why do you want a laptop for gaming in particular? And what kinds of games are you looking to play? If its for LAN parties I would just look into building a desktop with a LAN case. If you just want to bring counter-strike or a few multiplayer games with you, I'd just build a desktop and buy a small laptop capable or playing some games like a highend eeepc, or the alienware m11x.
  • edited November 2010
    Build a laptop? Possible, but I'd hardly call it "building" in most cases. Do you mean a desktop?
    Post edited by lackofcheese on
  • Yeah, pretty much the only answers you'll get from this thread will be:
    1. Don't try to build a laptop, just buy a Lenovo/Asus/Dell/HP/etc. laptop
    2. Don't try to get a gaming laptop.
    3. Buy a netbook and build a gaming desktop (It's my current situation and it's fantastic).
    4. Seriously, don't get a gaming laptop.
  • edited November 2010
    There are rare but specific circumstances that warrant a laptop capable of playing modern games.