This forum is in permanent archive mode. Our new active community can be found here.

When to quit your job

I've been unhappy at my current job for more than a year now. I'm a service tech, barely, at a medical device company. The pay is lousy, the job is boring, and it's almost impossible to advance at this point. It was tolerable when I was working part time and going to school but since graduating in December each day feels worse than the last. I've gotten a few interviews but so far they haven't gotten me anywhere.

I stumbled upon this article, http://finance.yahoo.com/news/16-Signs-Its-Time-to-Quit-usnews-30401889.html?x=0, and while I normally try not to take these lists seriously thirteen of the sixteen items apply to me! The article says THREE it too many!

So what would drive you to quit your current job without already having employment? Is that ever close to a good idea?

Comments

• Is that ever close to a good idea?
    Not unless you have some kind of plan for gainful self-employment that you will enact.

Or unless you have enough money saved up that you can afford to do it.
  • Never quit till you have another job and can give two weeks notice.
  • Is that ever close to a good idea?
    Not unless you have some kind of plan for gainful self-employment that you will enact.

Or unless you have enough money saved up that you can afford to do it.
    Or unless you have parents who are willing to take you back in for free. This is sadly becoming normal among young adults these days.
    Many employers now are refusing to even talk to people who are unemployed. Do not quit until you have already accepted a new job.
  • Yeah, I figured that'd be everyones answer.
    Or unless you have parents who are willing to take you back in for free. This is sadly becoming normal among young adults these days.
    I couldn't afford to live on my own on what I make now anyway. Not in Connecticut.