This forum is in permanent archive mode. Our new active community can be found here.

Living and working in NYC from overseas

edited August 2011 in Everything Else
I am currently a professional Back-End Web Developer with a BSc in Computer Science born and raised in London. As the title suggests, I would like to move to NYC to live and work (as a Web Dev). I've made some preliminary investigation into how to obtain a work visa, and I think that the one I need to go for is the H-1B visa. Is this correct? Does anyone on the forum have experience in this field?

Thanks, guys :)

Comments

• am currently a professional Back-End Web Developer with a BSc in Computer Science born and raised in London. As the title suggests, I would like to move to NYC to live and work (as a Web Dev). I've made some preliminary investigation into how to obtain a work visa, and I think that the one I need to go for is the H-1B visa. Is this correct? Does anyone on the forum have experience in this field?
    Call an immigration lawyer. Also, a lot of employers will not want you because it is a pain in the ass. Other than that, go for it!
  • am currently a professional Back-End Web Developer with a BSc in Computer Science born and raised in London. As the title suggests, I would like to move to NYC to live and work (as a Web Dev). I've made some preliminary investigation into how to obtain a work visa, and I think that the one I need to go for is the H-1B visa. Is this correct? Does anyone on the forum have experience in this field?
    Call an immigration lawyer. Also, a lot of employers will not want you because it is a pain in the ass. Other than that, go for it!
    He's a Brit though, that's actually a pretty big +
    Yeah, accent will help in interviews.
    There are a ton of Americans living in Mildenhall and Huntington out in near Cambridge, Find an American Chick and marry her they're all looking for British guys.