This forum is in permanent archive mode. Our new active community can be found here.

Splash @ MIT

edited October 2011 in Everything Else
Annually, right at the beginning of Thanksgiving break for most colleges, MIT hosts an educational program for middle/high school students called Splash. Students, professors, graduates, anybody can teach a class on virtually any topic they'd like. I've taken classes on "The mathematics of knots," "Why open-source is important," and "How to survive the upcoming zombie apocalypse." Other people teach cooking classes, engineering classes, it's pretty much all fair game. It's volunteer-run, so teachers aren't making money, but it's still a great experience. I was a student at this awesome program for 5 years, and it was super awesome. I tried teaching last year, unsuccessfully (no students showed up 'cause I tried teaching a 5-person class during a prime class hour, and I got assigned to a hard-to-find building), but I did enjoy volunteering immensely.

Any of you guys who might be interested, link is here, click "Teach" at the top if you're interested in registering a class to teach. Teacher registration closes in a couple days, though, so it's rather last-minute. Student registration doesn't start for a little while, though, so if you want to take classes/bring someone to take classes, you still have some time. I just registered a class, "Computer Building 101," so I'll be around that weekend. Anyone else interested?

Comments

• Ah man! I've always meant to sign up for this but never have. This year will definitely be the year.
  • I went as a student last year, and plan on doing so again this year.
  • Hm, this sounds
    Who: Students in grades 7-12
  • Teaching is just as super awesome as taking classes, sign up for that sheeit.
  • I might. I can't think of anything that would be particularly interesting that I can fill an hour or two with, though.
  • I wish my school had this.