This forum is in permanent archive mode. Our new active community can be found here.

Balls of Gelatin 2: Electropneumatic Boogaloo (AKA The Paintball Thread)

So I noticed there's a few 'ballers on these here forums, but there's no thread to codify for the ages our experiences, and love, and hate, for this sport/game/money hole.

Some of you must have gear and play or have played at least a few times, so chip in with your experiences and tales of valor or mishap.

For those who havn't played? You should try it... because it really doesn't hurt like you might think. And, it doesn't take years of training to be good at it. In fact, it seems the more I think and try to be tactical, the worse I get at this game.

As for my involvement, I'm really into the game even though I'm not actually very good at it objectively... nor do I play it all the time like some people who are really into it and go every weekend. No, I work in the industry as a product designer, with a group of guys called Stark Pursuit, and I invented a few products related to mag-fed style play, where you get rid of the bulk hoppers on the top of your gun and use small magazines instead, which is pretty-much the way paintball is headed at this point. Now that tournaments are loosing popularity and more companies are pushing products in the mag-fed market, people are seeing the appeal of less ammo use and more accuracy when you aren't locked in a tiny arena where you win via lanes of paint.