This forum is in permanent archive mode. Our new active community can be found here.

GeekNights Wednesday - Song of the Sea

2»

Comments

• In a crappy year of movies, an 80% good movie will win. LEGO movie is definitely suffering from a crowd of superior product :-p
  • Matt said:

I don't know if it necessarily got snubbed. I have no experience with the How to Train Your Dragon movies, but they seem horrible. Maybe it should have been included over that, but I can't say.

How To Train Your Dragon 1 & 2 are incredible. I'd say they are the best Dreamworks movies and the 2nd one is the perfect follow-up to what was established in the first movie and the Riders of Berk series.
    sK0pe said:

It wasn't witty for me at all, I could identify what the writers wanted to be funny to a fault. "Hey look laugh here audience we're pointing to it so hard, please laugh at this." Come on guys we made a clever joke about political systems right there, better laugh. Not sure about a kids perspective but I think I would have thought it was stupid if I was 5 or 6 years old. The movie was not well crafted enough for adults. An example of what you are describing are the Toy Story films.

The Lego Movie is the new Toy Story for this decade. Children play with toys based on famous properties like Lego or Batman. All the themes I listed are present in both, but this one applies satire to the over-saturated nature of our franchise filled childhoods. It's deliberately making fun of this kind of obvious Hollywood story because a child WOULD create a story like that with his favorite characters/self-inserts in mind. The audience I saw who watched The Lego Movie were also incredibly quiet when they were not laughing.
  • Nukerjsr said:

Matt said:

I don't know if it necessarily got snubbed. I have no experience with the How to Train Your Dragon movies, but they seem horrible. Maybe it should have been included over that, but I can't say.