This forum is in permanent archive mode. Our new active community can be found here.

Show Ideas and Reminders

Comments

• edited July 2015
    Rym said:

I am a product manager. My life is understanding software development cycles.

So we can expect a topic of that sort? :)

My current company (as well as the previous one I worked at) are going crazy about Agile. Scrum in particular. I would really like to hear what you have to say as someone who definitely has more experience in those waters than me and guys around me. Not only with Scrum, but other methodologies you might have encountered, that were good or bad, and most importantly - why :)
    Post edited by Dhorian on
  • Agile is just the way people go these days. Things like waterfall only work for large systems that Microsoft and Apple make. The way methodologies should always work is just do what is effective and works for your team. You can start to run into conflicts when you adhere to closely to a philosophy of software development. My buddies company is pretty invested in doing scrums and one of their scrum masters basically wrote the book on scrum while the other one went through some cert or something and is "the scrum nazi" which he says gets in the way sometimes.
  • All these methodologies, and buzzwords like agile and waterfall, are bullshit. It's an entire industry about creating do-nothing jobs. You get someone who spends all their time in Jira or Basecamp managing tickets, pulling people into scrums, and finding pretty much any way to waste time planning and organizing work instead of doing the actual work.

Show up to work. Know what you are supposed to be working on. Do it. No methodology necessary.

Humans were able to accomplish all sorts of great things over the years without any sort of buzzword-laden development methodology. They went to the moon without agile. You don't need it to build an iOS app.

And that's all I have to say about that.
  • Apreche said: