This forum is in permanent archive mode. Our new active community can be found here.

Webcomics Roundtable at Otakon 2006

edited September 2006 in GeekNights
Hello all, I am Sammy d and I am new to this forum. I have been listening to Geek Nights for about 6 months and enjoy the show very much. I really do appreciate the work Rym and Scott do to put out four shows a week. I have to admit that I never planned on joining this forum, but I just had to take issue with the above stated show. First although I can put up with the disrespectful and just flat out rude way Rym and Scott choose to describe super hero comics, the know it all way they approached their news of the day I cannot. If they would have just taken a minute of research and thought they would have realized their conclusion of: "manga out sells super hero comics" was wrong.
I will not go into great detail on why this is wrong, I will only say that if you were to open a Wizard magazine and flip to the top 50 single issue comic books for the month you will not find one manga title. This would mean by my information and reasoning, superhero comics out sell manga. Sounds pretty silly right? Why Rym and Scott couldn’t simply have said "Manga is doing well in this format, this news is great for the hobby in general." I guess I don't understand this hostility Rym and Scott have for super hero comics.

I generally would have just brushed off the news and the views expressed, but I noticed the same themes in the roundtable discussion as well. It just seemed to me as if every one in that room had either a hostility or hatred for superhero comics and fans. It seemed to root from what sounded like jealousy. Instead of working on new ways to market themselves and their work to tailor to certain conventions, they were just hell-bent on blaming the fans by saying "they are anti-social" or "their hobby is a solitary one" and the funniest "they are just old." What!?