This forum is in permanent archive mode. Our new active community can be found here.

First jobs

Comments

• I worked at a men's hip hop clothing store. I hated the co-workers, the store and the constant rap I heard for 4 to 6 hours per day. ARGH!
  • I worked at a men's hip hop clothing store. I hated the co-workers, the store and the constant rap I heard for 4 to 6 hours per day. ARGH!
    That must have been your visit to to the ninth level of Hell on a daily basis.
  • I worked as a counselor at a youth day program for kids ages 5 - 12. It was glorified babysitting, and about half of them were brats that their parents just dropped off so they could forget about them. Got to learn about a lot of unpleasant home situations that summer.
  • I worked as a counselor at a youth day program for kids ages 5 - 12. It was glorified babysitting, and about half of them were brats that their parents just dropped off so they could forget about them. Got to learn about a lot of unpleasant home situations that summer.
    Did that sorta or completely scare you off at having a child at all one day?
  • My first job (and current one to this day) compared to the jobs listed here kicks everyone else's ass. I work at a video store which is VERY similar to the video store in Leroy (if I remember correctly) that Emily described in the origins episode about anime. This means I can any movie I want (anime) whenever I want for FREE!!!
    Nah I think the dude who worked at the burger joint with the chicks in bikinis beats your job. :D
    I also think you're missing a "rent" in your last sentence...

Anyways, my first job (which I just happened to get last April) is bagging groceries at a local grocery store. Pay is shit (after taxes and union fees, it's probably around $5/hour), but the people are cool...and since it's usually slow, all I usually end up doing is sitting around talking to people.