This forum is in permanent archive mode. Our new active community can be found here.

What martial art should one learn?

13»

Comments

• Personally I find the thought of fighting in hand-to-hand combat even if it is a scrap to be something to be discouraged, but I still learn so that I can prevent these fights from happening. "The art of a cunning warrior is fighting without fighting." (Gorin no Sho - Miyamoto Musashi) I have been training in the martial arts for nearly 12 years in Kendo, Aikido, Kung-fu, Ju-jitsu, Tai Chi Quan, Muay Thai, and applying principles from Jeet Kune Do. Even though I have learned much from each of these styles, I still see a flaw in them all, THEY HURT PEOPLE, not just the recipient of your hard earned skills, but the practitioner as well. There is a level of respect for these arts that have been neglected, most of them were created to harm, maim, cripple, or kill an opponent. There is much respect there for the people who are willing to teach these arts.