This forum is in permanent archive mode. Our new active community can be found here.

FRC Oekaki: Which Oekaki board to use?

edited January 2009 in Art!
Posted By: AprechePosted by: OmnutiaDo you think we could get that oekaki board as part of the site redesign?
Tell me which oekaki is the best. I was researching it awhile ago, but nobody helped me out.Anyone have any favorites/recommendations? Chibipaint will probably work until we get something better but doing it all in one go would be easier.

Comments

• I went to 2draw.net. They have Lascaux, Shi-Painter, PaintBBS, and Chibipaint installed. I tried all four.

I'm no artist, but I know about software. All of these are so shitty and unprofessional, I would not have them anywhere on any of my sites. I'm aware that people out there are capable of making good arts with these programs, but that's not enough for me. The user interfaces on these things look like bad old Unix apps, or worse. Some of them are, in fact, bad old Java awt apps. Ewwwww!

Find one that has a clean and modern user interface that looks respectable. Then I'll consider setting it up.
  • edited January 2009
    We will not stand for this. This.. is.. Java!!
    Seriously though, Chibipaint looks fine enough for the people using it. Art applications have never really been known for how the interface is presented as long as it's laid out well. Screenshot here.
    Post edited by Omnutia on
  • We will not stand for this. This.. is.. Java!!
    Seriously though, Chibipaint looks fine enough for the people using it. Art applications have never really been known for how the interface is presented as long as it's laid out well.Screenshot here.
    That's not what it looks like on my screen. I'll show a screenshot later.
  • edited January 2009
    I mean, Chibipaint is open source. I suppose we could change the look of it if we really wanted to, right?