This forum is in permanent archive mode. Our new active community can be found here.

Games You are Currently Playing

Comments

• edited October 2012
    And this is precisely why I don't give two shits about game theory.
    See, Scrym ruins things INTENTIONALLY with game theory. I am a student of game design, and I air more on the side of the kind that people like Egoraptor use to intelligently analyze games (in Sequelitis).
    You can analyze the way a game works without ruining them.
    Name a game that is ruined by Scrym-nalysis but not by intelligent analysis. If a game falls apart under scrutiny, then it was a crap game.
    Post edited by DevilUknow on
  • And this is precisely why I don't give two shits about game theory.
    See, Scrym ruins things INTENTIONALLY with game theory. I am a student of game design, and I air more on the side of the kind that people like Egoraptor use to intelligently analyze games (in Sequelitis).
    You can analyze the way a game works without ruining them.
    Name a game that is ruined by Scrym-nalysis but not by intelligent analysis.
    Pretty much any game that is a shooter that isn't focused on being the fastest and most strategic. They dislike things like TF2 for not providing the skills they like, and by their analysis, yes, games that are at a lower level like that are less worth playing by themselves. I disagree on an inherent level that it's worse if it requires less skills.

• Let me pre-empt what Rym will say very soon.

This book agrees with everything we have ever said about games. Read it, and then you are allowed to talk.

Characteristics of Games
  • ITT People who conflate Game Theory with video game analysis.
  • Also, if a game is "ruined" through hard scrutiny and mathematical analysis, what does that say about the game?