This forum is in permanent archive mode. Our new active community can be found here.

Geeknights Coding Club: Project D.O.R.F.

Comments

• edited June 2010
    I want to merge in my pathfinding and line-of-sight code into Project D.O.R.F. but I've never used git before. Are there any good GUI clients for git or should I stick with the command line?
    Post edited by DigitalGhost on
  • I want to merge in my pathfinding and line-of-sight code into Project D.O.R.F. but I've never used git before. Are there any good GUI clients for git or should I stick with the command line?
    You should stick with the command line. There are plenty of tutorials out there. I can also help you.
  • So, is Poject D.O.R.F alive? There have not been any new code since early May ( 1.56 months ago), so I was worried.

...On second thought the recent (again, early June, but at least this time it's 1 month further down the line) seem to deal with coding, so I guess all is not lost. I would still like someone competent informed to explain the state of the project. Eagerly awaiting your reply, a1s.
  • Yeah, it's alive-ish. I've just been working on other things. My non shit-talk queue is currently as follows

1) Connecticon.
    2) Do something about show notes on frontrowcrew.com
    3) A project I have planned for too long must be made real.
    4) DORF.

Basically my mistake on DORF was that I figured I could just start with a baseline and then people would self organize. I now realize I, or someone, needs to provide direction. Project DORF needs a Linus Torvalds. I guess it's me, unless someone else wants to do it. That means give it about a month and a half. I'll do a take 2.
  • Yeah, I definitely need direction. Granted, I think I could work out what needs to be done, but I can't be bothered with that level of effort compared to the effort of just writing code.