This forum is in permanent archive mode. Our new active community can be found here.

GeekNights 20110224 - Unions

Comments

• which I thought was a halfway decent summer action flick
    Where is it in comparison to The Rock? If it's worse than The Rock, why didn't you just watch The Rock instead?
  • edited February 2011
    3/4ths of the year worth of work
    As much as I am in the corner of teachers, this statement is still inflated. You, of course, are commenting on their three-month summer break; don't forget to subtract snow days, Labor Day, Thanksgiving holiday, Christmas break, President's Day, Spring Break, NEA Day, and a handful of other holidays that the local teacher's union may negotiate. My beautiful, hard-working, well-qualified wife hates it when I remind her that she only has 182 working days a year -- and she still manages to take personal days.

The typical discussion conversation debate argument goes something like this:

Lisa: "I have a master's degree and eight higher-ed certifications, and I still only get paid $XX,000 a year. That's $10,000 a year less than someone in the private sector with a similar education!"
    Me: "Yes, but they work four months a year more than you."
    Lisa: "You fucker."
    Post edited by Jason on
  • If the movie pisses of fans of the comic, it's probably better.
    I found it more enjoyable.
  • The $89,000 figure is the cost for the state to pay for that teacher's payroll. $51,000 average direct pay and $38,000 benefits package (health plan, contributions to pension, etc.).
    [Citation Needed]
  • The $89,000 figure is the cost for the state to pay for that teacher's payroll. $51,000 average direct pay and $38,000 benefits package (health plan, contributions to pension, etc.).