This forum is in permanent archive mode. Our new active community can be found here.

Occupy Wall Street

Comments

• I've always thought that I'd be more likely to take risks with my professional life if I didn't have to worry about a failure becoming such an epic failure.

For instance, I've been considering putting together a 24 hour coffee shop for a few years now, since my local area doesn't have anything like that and I think there is a market for it. I've done some preliminary research into just how much business there would be, and I believe it could be maintainable. However, the main problems with starting the business would be the fact that I can't hold down my current job and still open the coffee shop, and that I wouldn't be able to pay for healthcare for the first few precious years of the shop's start up. And that's a risk I simply can't afford to take at this point in my life.

So really, having a decent safety net could certainly encourage entrepreneurship.
  • Idea: If we had truly universal healthcare, supported by progressive taxation, we would see much more self-reliance, entrepreneurship, and self-employment, along with increased volunteer work at large.

Reasoning: the biggest dangers of self-employment and cottage industry is the hurdle presented by health care. People cannot afford to take a "break" for volunteer work between jobs without losing their necessary benefits (COBRA is far too expensive for most people, and is limited in nature), and small businesses often don't hire or under-employ solely due to the insane cost of providing health care to full time employees.

How many people would work niche cottage industries, like online tutoring or artistic pursuits, if all they had to cover were their own basic living expenses (rent, food, minimal savings)?