This forum is in permanent archive mode. Our new active community can be found here.

Forum Flea Market

Comments

• Actually, that's not true. There are a few things that make a good airsoft gun: The internals, the body, and the barrel. Really, anything with a version 2 or version 7 gearbox is going to be absolutely fine as far as wear and tear goes. The body really depends on what gun you want. G36's have a polymer body on the real gun, so a polymer airsoft gun isn't really that far off. The barrel is the easiest thing to change out, but usually they come from the factory with a halfway decent barrel bore. Usually a bit larger than a tightbore, so you lose accuracy, but it means you can run cheaper bb's through it.

For example, I got a G&G Combat Raider (M4 with RIS foregrip) for $120. You can find them less when used. Out of the box, it felt solid and performed decently. For $50, I threw some higher gauge wiring in, put in a tightbore barrel, and reshimmed the gearbox to accept higher voltage batteries. That means that I increased my ROF a fair amount and also increased the range and accuracy.

So now I have a gun I sunk $170 into that performs as well as KWAs that sell for $350.

Hell, I picked up a high end Classic Army M249 with upgraded internals and 2 box mags for $350.

Unless you're talking about the new Polarstar stuff. The Polarstuff is super expensive, but is also really good.
  • I don't know much about airsoft, and the only guns I have are cheap spring powered ones. All I know is I can get a decent .22 for less than $200, and if all I'm really doing is just shooting shit then I'd definitely have more fun with that. Granted they're for different purposes, but that's not my point.
  • Ahhh, I see your point. I think we're also comparing it to different things. If you want to get an AR-15 to plink with and be hardcore milsim mofo or something it'll cost you a lot more. But a good .22 to plink with is definitely less.