This forum is in permanent archive mode. Our new active community can be found here.

Ownership Laws

edited March 2008 in Everything Else
Riddle me this, If I bought something that is completely legal and with my own money and I am 18, doesn't that make it legally mine and doesn't that make it so that no one can keep it away from me unless it is by a legal force? Am I correct or am I completely off base?

Comments

• Riddle me this, If I bought something that is completely legal and with my own money and I am 18, doesn't that make it legally mine and doesn't that make it so that no one can keep it away from me unless it is by a legal force? Am I correct or am I completely off base?
    I am not a lawyer, but I believe you are completely correct. I am guessing you are having a problem with your parents trying to confiscate your things. If this is the case, there may be a problem because you are probably also living on, or at least standing in, your parents private property. Even if you can get them on stealing, they can get you on trespassing. Don't be stupid.
  • Yeah, my mom took away my Wii and my DS.
  • Yeah, my mom took away my Wii and my DS.
    I assume for a legitimate reason? ;^)
  • edited March 2008
    Define legitimate reason. She took them away because I bombed on a math quiz which lowered my grade to a below par level and messed up my interim.
    Post edited by Li_Akahi on
  • Define legitimate reason. She took them away because I bombed on a math quiz which lowered my grade to a below par level and messed up my interim.
    I would call that legitimate.
  • edited March 2008
    If your grade in that class was unstable enough that something as small as a quiz was able to "ruin" it, then you should probably be trying harder anyway.

Wait... I'm having deja vu... Haven't we had this conversation with you before?
    Post edited by Sail on
  • Haven't we had this conversation with you before?
    4 pages of this conversation before.