This forum is in permanent archive mode. Our new active community can be found here.

Ska bands

edited May 2008 in Everything Else
Anyone into ska here? I like No Doubt's early stuff because it's ska until the Return of Saturn album.

I like Suburban Legends a lot and I'm just getting into this band Mephiskapheles.

Otherwise I don't have any other favorite ska bands. I just download random compilations of ska music I found online.

Comments

• Aquabats and the Bosstones are two of my favorite bands, but I generally dislike ska bands.
  • Oh yeah! I just got some Aquabats because I was looking for this one song from them I liked. I only know one Bosstones song.
  • Streetlight Manifesto is making the best ska around these days. Check them out.
  • The Cat Empire.
  • I think my most recent purchase in that direction was the new album by an austrian band called Guadalajara, but I can't wait to get my hands on the new CD by The Slackers. I'm also a big fan of Big D and the Kid's Table. I've recently gotten into japanese Ska with two bands aptly name Ore Ska Band and Ska Ska Club. They make some good tunes.
  • edited May 2008
    I used to be into ska way back when with Aquabats, and Bosstones, and Goldfinger. Then for some reason I just kind of fell out of it. But recently I got into Japanese Ska when I heard Yum Yum Orange (it's basically just ska but really happy like it should be), although they're really the only ones I listen to.
    Post edited by Corbin on
  • I enjoy ska in limited quantities. Eventually the simple, constant, unvarying trumpet lines gets to me.
  • Desmond Dekker. That's all.
  • Reel Big Fish.
  • Reel Big Fish.
    Whenever I hear this band or ska in general, I'm reminded of the movie Baseketball...
  • Reel Big Fish.
    I liked them for a while but they never really grew on me.
  • I like their song "Scott's a Dork"
  • I like me some Goldfinger. I found out about them from Tony Hawk Pro Skater. The first one.