This forum is in permanent archive mode. Our new active community can be found here.

A Legal and Revenge-Based Quandary

Comments

• edited March 2011
    Unless he is a minor and unable to sign a lease. If the mother then had to sign the lease then she'd be the one affected by all the legal stuff.
    In that case, don't do anything. If your parents want to flush money down the toilet paying rent for no apartment, let her do it. It's no skin off your back whatsoever. Just ignore the problem complete and let your parents suffer for their own mistake. Just don't sweat it or think about it because it causes absolutely no trouble for you.
    Yeah, this should have been made clear from the very beginning...

Still, if your parents are happy to throw money away, then surely they could just give the money to you instead? If you can save them some money by fixing the issue, surely you deserve some of it?

In general, my understanding (though I'm not a lawyer) is that you can break the lease whenever you want to, though if you don't have adequate grounds for this, you can be held liable for lost rent. However, if another tenant is found - and they can't simply sit around not looking for a tenant, though you should help too - the landlord can no longer charge for this. Consequently, if you don't want to live there, it's clearly better to break the lease as soon as possible.
    Post edited by lackofcheese on
  • It's no skin off your back whatsoever.
    This wouldn't be true even if he was a minor. It's his name on the contract. It's his record and financial history.
  • I am not a minor, but my parents wanted to cover everything. I pay through my bank account, but they are suppliers of the money and my guardian.