This forum is in permanent archive mode. Our new active community can be found here.

Random Images

Comments

can someone confirm/deny?
  • edited October 2013
    can someone confirm/deny?
    AFAIK, only in the sense that there are standards utilized with relational databases that help maintain data consistency, but there are modern nosql alternatives that are perfectly reasonable from a business perspective. Someone with industry/nosql experience might have more thoughts.

Post edited by ProfPangloss on
  • Most developers I know have zero understanding of the importance of transactionalism in databases.

BEGIN;
    do your shit
    COMMIT;

It's not hard.
  • In my experience, if you code properly, data consistency is not a problem. Almost all of Amazon's services run on NoSQL databases, and they rarely have issues. I'm not an expert on the subject though, most of my experience is using MySQL.
  • In my experience, if you code properly, data consistency is not a problem. Almost all of Amazon's services run on NoSQL databases, and they rarely have issues. I'm not an expert on the subject though, most of my experience is using MySQL.
    When I first started with NoSQL I had everything wrong. To get them to work properly, you have to store redundant data which is necessarily inconsistent. Let me share the revelation by example, the old blog example.

In a relational database you might have one table like this:

id, pub_date, title, author, blog_text

If you want to display a list of blog posts you do a query like this

select id, title from blog_posts where pub_date <= today

If you want to display one blog post you do a query like this

select * from blog_posts where id = X