This forum is in permanent archive mode. Our new active community can be found here.

GeekNights Monday - That Penny Arcade Job Posting

Comments

• edited December 2013
    IT is something you mostly learn from experience: if you're smart enough to look up things and make educated guesses, you'll learn the field just fine.

On the other hand, I very much dislike self-taught programmers. One of the more useful things you get in class is introductions to "standard" design and coding patterns that make certain tasks simple, and easy to follow when you're looking at other people's work. For the most part (i.e. not Nelson), self-taught people don't know these, so they don't follow good design practices and write bad, buggy, unmaintainable code.
    Post edited by Linkigi(Link-ee-jee) on
  • Omnutia said:

At this point I could probably apply for the IT guy of a small office but I'd still need to do a lot of looking up.

Dude, like 90% of IT (especially when starting out) is looking up stuff. If you are moderately technical, good at communicating, and very capable of research on Google, you are highly qualified for the majority of entry-level (and even higher-level) IT jobs. Go for it!

-EDIT- Hell, if you have the communication skills, you're already better than the majority of IT grunts out there.

So what sort of qualifications would a self taught person need to apply? Or is it more showing a portfolio of their work?
  • edited December 2013
    It's not really a "portfolio" per se, but talk about the interesting/cool/difficult things you've done with computers, and what skills you already have - installing computers, building computers, command-line knowledge, running servers if you've ever done it, what programming/scripting languages you know, etc. Hell, even just knowing how to use Microsoft Office well can be important.