This forum is in permanent archive mode. Our new active community can be found here.

Are we heading for another depression?

Comments

• edited March 2009
    Funny. Now that Obama is president, these things all of the sudden cease to matter. Speaks volumes.

My main hope for Obama was that he'd improve the economy and end the Iraq war. I'm no expert, but Wall St. thinks that he's failing at economic recovery. He's impotent at best.

Pretty cavalier to be "bored" by such a thing. Maybe I'm just less myopic than most. Whether or not I'm affected, I have compassion for the millions that have been hurt by this recession. You should have compassion too.

I've had enough of the Bush economy. I just never thought that, under Obama, there would be a declination. Let's just hope that this is a hiccup. Let's hope that he'll show leadership through action, and not mere rhetoric. Whatever happens, constantly lowering the bar isn't an answer.

The good news is that things will get better. The only question is when. I just don't want to see Obama delay an inevitable recovery. When the market drops every time Obama speaks, something isn't working.
    Post edited by Kilarney on
  • I'm sorry, Kilarny, but did this thread suddenly become the economy? It seems like you have a problem understanding subjects and direct objects and such. Both Luke and I feel this thread is boring, due to the way it's spiraled into another petty knock-around between certain people. This thread has hardly a goddamned thing to do with the economy anymore. But if you want to go and be all straw-man-y about it, be my guest.
  • edited March 2009
    The thread is entitled: "Are we heading for another depression?" I mentioned that the stock market is falling and falling.

Take a look at what event happened at the beginning of the last depression. (Hint: You'll find it in any elementary school US history book. Hint #2: Look for the year 1929.) Now tell me that my concern isn't topical.