This forum is in permanent archive mode. Our new active community can be found here.

Things of your day

Comments

• I'm a scientist. Putting things in boxes is what I do. I could probably categorize your spiritual beliefs after a 15 minute conversation.
    It's your prerogative to be this arrogant, but it's not going to win you any converts.

I'm sure your religious taxonomy skills are excellent but labels in areas of grand subjectivity like religion and spirituality hamper rather than facilitate discussion.
    What's there to convert you to? Categorization is a descriptive process. It has no aim other than categorization.

Labels only hamper discussion because people are poor labelers, and there is a general attitude telling people that being labeled is bad.

By the time you got done adequately labeling every spiritualist belief "system" available out there, you'd be fully qualifying your categorizations well beyond the number of levels currently used for living organisms. It's not practical to be thorough to the degree you'd need in order not to avoid incorrectly lumping two similar beliefs together and address them inaccurately. There be a lot of play in that shit, bro.
    Sure, but you don't actually need to label all aspects of a philosophy, in most cases.

The odds are that your beliefs are 80% similar to something out there that is already known. Maybe a combination of a couple of things, but not much more than that. So, we apply a label that gets us most of the way there, and describe the differences.

When you do this, you'll find that most people do fall mostly within certain categories, and there are a handful of differences that are actually important.

Most people self-identify not by gross similarity to others - they'll do it by small differences to a similar group.