This forum is in permanent archive mode. Our new active community can be found here.

WTF of Your Day

Comments

• Dammit! Stop turning into Tumblr!
  • edited June 2013
    derp
    Post edited by Linkigi(Link-ee-jee) on
  • Dammit! Stop turning into Tumblr!
  • I'm sorry I brought my relationshipableism into the discussion.
    Japanese anti-pervert stockings.
  • I think getting upset when someone (who is otherwise cool) doesn't understand a term or bit of jargon is a real issue. I've heard the term "cisgender" before, and I think it's good to have such a word.

However, my first reaction when checking the definition of Wikipedia was "What the fuck?" The opening line of the entry is this:

"In gender studies, cisgender and cissexual describe related types of gender identity where an individual's self-perception of their gender matches the sex they were assigned at birth."

For a start, I'm not an expert in gender studies. This immediately tells me that if this comes up in conversation, it's not up to me, a non-gender-studier, to know what it means. Nor should it mean I understand the difference between gender and sex when referred to in a non-cis way either.

Second, and most importantly, the word phrase "assigned at birth" was super tricky for me to get my head around. Again, for someone not down on the terms and lingo, this conjured up all kinds of scenarios and situations that don't line up with the reality.

Thirdly, as a twin, this all confirms to me that while it's nice to have different terms, I can't expect others to know or understand them.