This forum is in permanent archive mode. Our new active community can be found here.

Random Questions

Comments

• Stirling engine+dynamo MCHP. The firebox is your boiler and powers the engine, the dynamo powers lights and jets. Use a handsome wood tub (I'm sure you can get an old one somewhere, and port holes in the wood for lights and jets, sealing the gaps with silicone epoxy.
    I am now taking this idea and building a steam-engine powered hot tub.
  • Engineering (Undecided)
    The impression I get is that RPI (do I correctly recall that you got accepted there?) is a better school for most engineering majors, whereas RIT is primarily notable for computer majors, as well as chemical engineering and optics.
    As a non-RIT student, I can't really comment on class quality.

Anyways, my positions on RIT and other engineering schools is well-known:
    1. If you can get into a university with equivalently good engineering programs and decent liberal arts programs, pick the university without question.
    2. They're decent if you don't want to go to grad school or do research. Unfortunately, I want to do both of those things (and don't understand why people wouldn't).
    I considered RPI (my brother actually goes there) but they recently got rid of their foreign language program, and I plan on studying Chinese.
  • I considered RPI (my brother actually goes there) but they recently got rid of their foreign language program, and I plan on studying Chinese.
    Well, the engineering program here is pretty dang good (especially engineering exploration), even if it's not RPI, and I've also heard some pretty good things about our Chinese classes from a friend in IT who's taken them. I think you'll be alright, plus the whole co-op program giving you plenty of work experience pre-graduation is REALLY helpful for getting a job and working off student debt.

• My thoughts exactly.
  • Remember guys, solar power won't work very well in Rochester for most of the year...