This forum is in permanent archive mode. Our new active community can be found here.

Dating

Comments

• I am a scientist, and I believe that all theories should be supported by ample data. Your theory sounds intriguing; however, in order to adopt it, I need to know about the experiments you have conducted to build it. To that end, how many relationships have you had total? Of those, how many started as friendships? How many did not? What is your ratio of successful:failed relationships?
    TL;DR I NEED EMPIRICAL DATA TO QUANTIFY YOUR THEORY OF LOVE!
  • edited June 2011
    I realize I don't have much backing for this. Again, why I pointed out that is simply what "I think." This isn't meant to be a real theory, just my opinion based on things I've seen, but not experienced or can really use as evidence.

And I'm not trying to say anyone not following this is in the wrong. Just that it's my own personal beliefs based on my observations.

Also, Luke, I didn't say that friendship would necessarily keep you together, just that it could.
    Post edited by Axel on
  • THEORY OF LOVE!
    At least we got a good band name out of this.
  • Glad to be of help.
  • Just that it's my own personal beliefs based on my observations.
    Joking aside, once you actually get into meaningful relationships, trying to guide yourself by beliefs based on observations goes out the window. By definition, observation is totally useless when it comes to personal feelings, needs and emotions.

The ONLY thing that you should use to guide your dating and relationship choices are your own experiences. Anything else is non-applicable, and the only way you learn what you are happy with is by comparing current situations, happiness levels, stress levels, etc to past situations. And even then, you should be aware of how you have changed since previous experiences.