This forum is in permanent archive mode. Our new active community can be found here.

Booh yah!

Comments

• I came in with a hefty scholarship which required me to maintain a 3.0.
    Nice. Mine required a 3.4. My GPA remained 4.0 up until I took an active role in the RIT Anime Club, at which point it dropped precipitously, reaching a bare 3.4 by the time I graduated.
  • Grants are far more awesome. You don't have to pay them back or maintain any level of GPA.
  • I can't wait to start making dozens of dollars as a grad student while working sixty hours a week...o wait
  • dozens of dollars as a grad student
    Someone's optimistic.
  • edited January 2011
    Is it still the "take showers, don't cry yourself to sleep, be a big boy and eat, make friends" class that it was when we were there? It really seemed aimed at people who never learned basic life skills in high school and thus couldn't handle college.
    At least the instructers are generally alright people, though my first one was a straight-edge ex-marine (e.g. "If you drink one sip of alcohol I will personally kick your ass").
    God, I wish I could have a college schedule again ^_^
    Also, yes. Dear gods yes. If I could do the same thing I did at RIT, but get paid (instead of paying them) ~$45k/year, I would not complain. 4 Day week starting at noon each day is worth the somewhat shitty pay-grade. (Also, note: in Rochester, $45k/year is in the top 20% of household incomes. Might even be the top 10%. Yeah.....)
    Post edited by YoshoKatana on
  • I fucking love my job. I have done fuck all the last six days except juggle, hang out with friends, and play minecraft. If I wanted to I could do this for the next 11 months, as living in Berlin is so cheap I can survive just on the money I earned in the last two months. Being a student sucked, because just to get by I had to work a night shift at a supermarket. No scholarships for me!
  • edited January 2011