This forum is in permanent archive mode. Our new active community can be found here.

Making Things With String

Comments

• Ro - Huh. Okay, not short rows. Very interesting. Never heard of that one before, but it makes sense.

Ruffas - Hats can be very quick, especially if you're using big yarn. A simple hat usually only takes me a few hours, so I could see that. Pics when you are done!
  • Picked up 3 skeins of Ravelry Red Malabrigo yarn today to start making a shawl. I'm very fond of this yarn. At first I was skeptical because the yarn seemed to be uneven on parts of the skein in regards to thickness. It's handspun yarn and I've never used it before, at least I don't think so.

I really like how it's just one large strand. The cast on was so nice not having the yarn unravel and knitting with is is very nice.

I now have yet another new yarn to add to my addiction.
  • I've got the pom pom on the top done. Took two tries though. Because of that I'm not quite sure if I've got enough yarn left for i-cords and tassley bits from the ear flaps though. How long did you make them on the hats you made for Andrew and Emily Ro? I've got ~13' and one failed pom pom left.
  • I made mine about 13" long. You can make them shorter if need be.
  • Be careful with the single-ply yarns. They can be lovely and soft, but they pill like nothing else. My legwarmers are made from a single-ply yarn, and they are really badly pilled already.
  • What is this pill of which you speak?
  • What is this pill of which you speak?
    Little rolly-balls of fabric that come off the knitted project.
  • Oh, those have a name then? I be learning!
  • Yep. There are also tools for removing them without pulling more fibers out of the yarn.

Shirley Paden, author of Knitwear Design Workshop: