This forum is in permanent archive mode. Our new active community can be found here.

Random Comments

Comments

• http://www.npr.org/blogs/health/2013/01/24/170160105/if-you-think-youre-good-at-multitasking-you-probably-arent
    I know I'm not good at multi-tasking, I have ADHD. Unfortunately, it's a fact of my life as a result of said ADHD.
  • edited January 2013
    I specifically post that article to point fingers at people like Scojo, who watches TV while playing video games. Also pointing at everyone who can't sit still and play an entire board game without getting up or doing anything besides the game. Also Katsu who has his laptop and Internets it up while playing tabletop RPGs.

It's one thing if you really have a condition that prevents you from focusing. It's another thing entirely if you keep switching between things and claim you have a handle on all of them.

It's also annoying to me because I do focus on one thing at a time. When one or more of those activities is with other people, and they do not focus on the thing for the entire time it is extremely bothersome.
    Post edited by Apreche on
  • edited January 2013
    I'm not one of those "get distracted" people, but I've wondered quite a bit about what counts as a "single thing" in this multi-tasking paradigm. Does listening to music while doing anything else count? Does using my five foot-pedals, keyboard, and thirteen button mouse while keeping count on both my and my opponents cooldown timers and ability durations count as more than one thing? Cause I can do that, and most people can't.

Thinking of the human brain in the context of single-thread vs. multi-thread is a little bit awkward. We're always doing thousands of little things, but we're not counting those. At what point is something a single activity vs. multiple activities.
    Post edited by Anthony Heman on