This forum is in permanent archive mode. Our new active community can be found here.

Fail of Your Day

Comments

• Military school= No PJ's allowed

Vermont= layers are required 10 out of 12 months

Wyatt= Sad panda...
  • I more than once rolled out of bed, unshaven and unshowered, donning pajamas and a trenchcoat (plus hat), to slip into a class and then promptly fall asleep in the back.
  • Several of my teachers wear T-shirts and jeans to teach class on a regular basis.
  • Several of my teachers wear T-shirts and jeans to teach class on a regular basis.
    I think that's pretty much the standard for grad students.
    I think that's pretty much the standard for grad students.
    I'm an undergrad.

• No, he meant for grad students who teach and TA classes.
  • On the other hand, if you already paid $Holy.Shit for an education, it shouldn't really matter what clothes you wear to class.
    You're a participant in your education.

Anyway, like I said, clearly old fashioned. Dress = respect in many areas and school used to be one of them just like weddings and funerals and court dates.
    You're educating my brain, not my clothes. I dress well for every class, but I've written more than my fair share of journal-style papers while shirtless in PJ pants and gotten A's, and that's fine too.
    I studied a traditional science. I was lucky that my professors knew how to dress themselves at all.
    In my experience, this is the spectrum of bio professors and TAs; pick one of A, B, or C, and then two of the numbered eccentricities:

A) Dresses in a hip, dressy-casual way, wearing jeans every day
    B) Wears suits about 30 years out of date
    C) Jeans and hemp men's yoga pants, like a gi. Geeky t-shirts or band t-shirts.

1) Waaaaaayyy too much man jewelry.
    2) Heavy tattooing, at least (but not limited to) one sleeve or some serious armed forces tattoos.
    3) A noted penchant for THC and LSD usage that students are aware of.