This forum is in permanent archive mode. Our new active community can be found here.

Booh yah!

Comments

• But you should be willing to spend a few years learning, because it takes a while. I started Tang Soo Do as a white belt in 2004, and I got my 1st Degree Black Belt just last year.
    Matthew, I'm a master of Pentjak Silat, and I'm good enough at krav maga to teach. I never said I was going to teach him Systema or Kempo.
  • I want to learn Muay Thai, but I don't think there are any Muay Thai lessons in my area. There are, however, BJJ lessons, and I might start taking those.
  • I want to learn Muay Thai, but I don't think there are any Muay Thai lessons in my area. There are, however, BJJ lessons, and I might start taking those.
    Excellent choices. Muay thai is great if you get a chance to do it (and you don't mind pain) and it's good to have a solid striking foundation, but BJJ is just a lot more interesting to learn. Even my muay thai coach said that you basically know everything after six months, and from then on it's just sharpening things up. With BJJ (or judo) you can learn forever. The big problem with BJJ is that it's so damn expensive -- I'd love to still do it, but I can't afford it. That, and BJJ has the best groundwork of any art, but no good way to get there. ;)
  • Driveshaft is out of my camaro, the transmission swap has begun.
  • edited January 2010
    The big problem with BJJ is that it'sso damn expensive-- I'd love to still do it, but I can't afford it.
    Illini BJJ Club - The only price for me is my time.

Sadly, there's only other clubs in various forms of Kung Fu, Karate, and Tae Kwon Do. I'm vastly more interested in martial arts designed for combat situations, or have by happenstance become recognized as extremely effective for such circumstances. I really wish there was a school in Krav Maga or Systema around.