This forum is in permanent archive mode. Our new active community can be found here.

Random Comments

Comments

• Go for the diamond, brah. Best chance to be worth the most.
    Value to me, or value to the pawn shop? I would find a cool dagger interesting. Pretty gems are not my thing.
  • edited May 2012
    Sometimes I think it might be nice to open a bookstore/coffeeshop/hackspace and never deal with anything academic ever again. I'm having a really difficult time determining whether or not this is what I really want, or if that part of my brain is just inherently defeatist and doesn't think I can go to grad school/become a PhD/do whatever I want to do related to bio.
    Post edited by WindUpBird on
  • I'm not going to lie WuB, I'm not sure I want to do anything academic ever again and I have my PhD. There's so much crap you have to deal with whether it's PIs that expect you to work 60 hours as a post-doc, needing 2-3 post-docs to get your faculty position, or schools that expect you to bring in at least $X in grants (so they can double dip into them) on top of teaching/research just depresses me.
  • edited May 2012
    Mu wand is
    Black Walnut and Phoenix Feather, Ten and Three Quarter inches, Hard
    and I'm a Slytherin, which is what I expected (though I think Ravenclaw was probably more appropriate).
    Post edited by lackofcheese on
  • edited May 2012
    I'm not going to lie WuB, I'm not sure I want to do anything academic ever again and I have my PhD. There's so much crap you have to deal with whether it's PIs that expect you to work 60 hours as a post-doc, needing 2-3 post-docs to get your faculty position, or schools that expect you to bring in at least $X in grants (so they can double dip into them) on top of teaching/research just depresses me.