This forum is in permanent archive mode. Our new active community can be found here.

Random Questions

Comments

• edited August 2012
    I mean I'm sure it's tasty Ro, but it's not BBQ if you bake it.
    Post edited by Andrew on
  • I mean I'm sure it's tasty Ro, but it's not BBQ if you bake it.
    Yeah, it's gotta at least encounter a barbecue for it to be BBQ. I guess you could bake it over/in coals?
  • edited August 2012
    I'm a GA resident and have lived here for six years. I also have a southern belle for a GF.
    What exactly does that mean in a modern context? I assume she doesn't wear hoop dresses and own negroes.

No slaves, but maybe a hoop dress if I'm at a certain convention. :-P

I was born and raised in Georgia, I suppose that makes me southern.

BBQ goes on ribs/brisket/pork sammiches (the more slathered on the better) and hot sauce goes on wings, end of story. Grits are a tasty breakfast side esp. with cheese, boiled peanuts are the snack from heaven, and pee-can pie is the staple dessert. Oh, and the more sugar in iced tea, the better.
    Post edited by Lyddi on
  • Well, if it's at Rym's of course I can't grill. I hear Scott has one, but grilling takes a while as well as concentration. Baking is the simplest solution. I know a proper bbq takes time, but I'm working with what I got.

If it were a perfect world, I would take you to a real Chamorro party where they prep for days and you would see platters of food on warmers on tables and the food never ends.
  • Well, if it's at Rym's of course I can't grill. I hear Scott has one, but grilling takes a while as well as concentration. Baking is the simplest solution. I know a proper bbq takes time, but I'm working with what I got.
    Fair play, fair play. Ever had barbecued tiger prawns basted with garlic? I hear it's good stuff.