This forum is in permanent archive mode. Our new active community can be found here.

Art Attack! Part II: The Revenge of the Finished Pieces!

Comments

• With my birthday being Sunday, I decided to get some cake-decorating practice in.image
    I've never used fondant before, so it was a real learning experience. The original plan had been to make my own from scratch, but I ended up using the ready-made kind after the recipe I used turned out to be an epic fail. I used melted white chocolate to paint the letters. I'm going to try and find a different method for making the shamrocks if I ever make this design again, though. Cutting them out of fondant was a pain, and they turned out kinda wonky. On the bright side, I learned that you can use scissors on fondant, which will make future work much easier.
  • This is my first 3D thing in Maya that I did after my first day in class. For some reason the bowl isn't casting a shadow on the table, but pretty happy with it otherwise.
  • *pats on the head*
    Good jorb.

Also, that's pretty good for your first day. The first real model (aside from some spheres) I made in Maya was a catapult. I hated Maya so bad for the first few weeks, and then I loved it forever after that. Finding your way around the hojillion menus okay?
  • Yes, but only because I'm focusing on the couple I've been taught and generally ignoring the others, but I am genuinely loving Maya just after a day. I'm really looking forward to doing more with it. I might actually try and get a few assignments ahead this weekend just so I can do some more stuff.
  • A colored panel I did to warm up. Do anyone else need to warm up before working on something?
  • Fixed my model somewhat today, realized I forgot to check something in the light so that there would be shadows. Plus added a thing around the bottom to make it look less like cloth, and more like a comforter.
  • Why is there gray goo coming from under the kotatsu?